PIN Code Zones in India – M. Ganesh Sai

India is divided into 8 PIN code zones. The post office in the country has been allotted a Postal Index Number. It was introduced in 1972. The left first digit of the six digit pin code number represents the zone in the country. The second and the third represent the sub zone and the manner of routing mail the first three digits together indicate the sorting district. The right three digits indicate the post office of delivery within sorting district.

Zone1: Delhi, Haryana, Punjab, Chandigarh, Himachal Pradesh and Jammu & Kashmir.

Zone2: Uttarpradesh and Uttaranchal

Zone3: Rajasthan, Gujarat, Daman & Diu and Dadra & Nagar Haveli

Zone4: Maharashtra, Goa, Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh.

Zone5: Andhra Pradesh and Karnataka

Zone6: Tamil Nadu, Kerala and Lakshadweep

Zone7: West Bengal, Orissa, Andaman & Nicobar Island, Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Manipur, Meghalaya, Nagaland, Tripura

 Zone8: Bihar and Jarkhand


This is useful for many people in different ways. Try to remember it by memorizing it.


M. Ganesh Sai, Author

Founder, MGS Leadership Consultants, India

Listed in Marquis Who’s Who in the World in 2014

Microsoft in Education featured my interview on Indian education in ‘Daily Edventures’:





Facebook Page:




Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s